Mortgage Calculator

Wednesday, July 18, 2012

Info & Maps for Klang Valley Mass Rapid Transit (MRT)

The KVMRT Stations
  1. Sungai Buloh
  2. Kg Baru Sg Buloh
  3. Kota Damansara
  4. Taman Industri Sg buloh
  5. PJU 5
  6. Dataran Sunway
  7. The Curve
  8. One Utama
  9. TTDI
  10. Section 16
  11. Pusat Bandar Damansara
  12. Semantan
  13. KL Sentral
  14. Pasar Seni
  15. Warisan Merdeka
  16. Bukit Bintang Central
  17. Pasar Rakyat
  18. Cochrane
  19. Maluri
  20. Taman Bukit Ria
  21. Taman Bukit Mewah
  22. Leisure Mall
  23. Plaza Phoenix
  24. Taman Suntex
  25. Taman Cuepacs
  26. Bandar Tun Hussein Onn
  27. Balakong
  28. Taman Koperasi
  29. Saujana Impian
  30. Bandar Kajang
  31. Kajang

Klang Valley Mass Rapid Transit (MRT)

The KVMRT Project is a government of Malaysia project under the greater Kuala Lumpur – Klang Valley National Key Economic Area to improve the public transport system. The much-awaited Klang Valley Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) project is set to be launched today by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.
The MRT Sungai Buloh – Kajang Line is a Mass Rapid Transit line running from Sungai Buloh and cutting through the Kuala Lumpur City Center, before ending at Kajang.
  • The Sungai Buloh-Kajang Line will cover a distance of 51 kilometers (of which 9.5km is underground).
  • There will be 31 stations planned along the route, to serve a total population of 1.2 million currently inadequately served by rail-based networks. There will be three provisional stations (not built for now, but planned) for future development.
  • The MRT Sungai Buloh – Kajang Line is part of the Klang Valley Mass Rapid Transit project to provide an integrated and sustainable transport system for the Klang Valley. It was announced by the Government of Malaysia in December 2010 under the Greater Kuala Lumpur / Klang Valley National Key Economic Area as detailed in the Economic Transformation Programme.
  • The objective of the project is to increase the number of people using public transport, alleviate traffic congestion and decrease travel time from one destination to another. For example a trip from Kota Damansara to Bukit Bintang which normally takes 45 minutes by car will only take 30 minutes via the MRT. The total time for traveling the entire stretch from Sungai Buloh to Kajang will be approximately 88minutes.
  • Travelling by MRT will also be considerably cheaper than owning and driving a car in the Klang Valley. Other benefits of the line would include increased productivity from time saved travelling and an increase in property values along the line.
  • Preliminary work on the MRT Sungai Buloh – Kajang line begins with land clearing work at three sites; Sungai Buloh, Semantan and Cochrane. Actual civil works will only commence from November 2011. The project is expected to be completed in 2016. Financing for the project will come entirely from government funds.
  • The line, including all 31 stations, will be owned by the Malaysian Government through Syarikat Prasarana Negara Berhad, the Project Owner, which is 100% owned by the Ministry of Finance Incorporated. Prasarana has appointed RapidKL to operate the MRT network.
  • Final Alignment of the Klang Valley MRT Sungai Buloh – Kajang Line and the and locations of the 31 stations